WIAW Camping Edition!

I have slowly been getting back into the swing of things after camping for the last couple of days.  As I mentioned in this post I really wanted to try to continue eating healthy even while on vacation camping.  Eating healthy to change my lifestyle is a long-term goal that I am slowly working toward.  I didn’t want to let myself fall while on vacation.

I feel that I actually did pretty well.  I planned meals and snacks and took plenty of pictures of everything to document what we ate for a special What I Ate Wednesday Camping Edition!

Peas and Crayons

I did have time set aside to plan healthy meals and snacks for Hailey and I to take camping.  Plans changed a bit when Hailey became sick and came back home early from vacation with her dad.  A trip to the doctor, some wonderful TLC from my mom, and Hailey was all better and ready to go!

Grandma and Hailey

I want to pat myself on the back here.  Even though I ran short of time I still bought lots of fruits and veggies to bring along.

Healthy snacking for the car ride

We stopped at the grocery store right before leaving, and I chopped everything up at the campsite.  Yay me for not giving into “no time” and just buying processed junk.

I bought broccoli, cauliflower, celery, and carrots to cut up and eat raw with my homemade veggie dip.  Well, actually the recipe is from my Grandma Fran but I healthified (if healthified isn’t a word it is now!) it by using plain greek yogurt.  I love watching Hailey eat all of these veggies! It makes me feel so good knowing that good stuff is getting into her body.

I brought along chicken meat that I had mixed with taco seasoning.  It was leftover chicken that I froze purposely to bring along camping to make chicken tacos.

Ezekiel sprouted tortilla shell with chicken, spinach, tomato, avocado, cheese, and plain greek yogurt

I simply heated up the taco chicken in a tin foil pack over the fire, chopped up all of the toppings, and we ate!  Avocado is my new favorite taco topping!

While I did eat some unhealthy things like hot dogs, sunchips, puppy chow, chocolate, and soda, I really feel that I ate a ton better than what I would call “normal”  for camping.  I am super proud of myself and feeling great.

Even though it was super hot, we did manage to do a little bit of walking.  We also spent some time down on the beach.

The freezing cold lake didn’t bother Hailey much, but Jackson did not like it!

A typical meal for camping are “pizza things.”  I looked for a healthier way to make these and this is what I came up with.

I used this as the pizza crust

I used fresh mozzerella cheese but didn’t have time to shred it.  I tore it into chunks and it didn’t melt as well as it would have if it would have been shredded.  Still tasted awesome and Hailey loved them too!

I also had various healthy snacks for campfire time.  The munchies always seem to hit hard while sitting around the relaxing fire doing nothing.  I wanted to be prepared!

We also enjoyed delicious fresh grilled corn on the cob.  This turned out fantastic!

 All in all it was a nutritionally aware camping trip.  No rain, nice weather, lots of fun!  And I am super proud of myself for the way I ate!

5 thoughts on “WIAW Camping Edition!

  1. Way to go Jaime! This was a wonderful nutrition-smart camping trip! We not only brought fruit and vegies, but ate them, and lots of them:) The best new item was G Fran’s dip with plain yogurt vs. mayo.

  2. Well done on all the healthy snacking even whilst on your holidays – those strawberries look tasty! And mmmmmm, yum to corn on the cob!

  3. yay jaime! good job staying on track during vacation. it sounds like you had a good mix of “fun” vacation food, but some equally “fun” healthy options! 🙂

Leave a Reply

