What I Ate Wednesday

Hailey is up north again this week with her dad on vacation so I am really trying hard to take care of myself.  When she is gone I tend to get sad, sit around, feel icky and lethargic.  Since I have been feeling better I decided to really focus on the food I am putting into my body.  Just taking it day by day.  What better than to do another WIAW post!

Peas and Crayons

Lately I have been eating this every morning for breakfast.

vanilla granola with almond butter

Ever since Rachel sent me some awesome french vanilla granola in my foodie penpals package I have been obsessed!  I found some at my local grocery store that is pretty tasty.  I also tried almond butter and am in love big time.  I have been having the granola with a dollop of almond butter every morning.  Yummy!

I love this time of year when all the fruit is delicious and in season.  I have been making sure to eat a lot of it.

strawberries and a plum

Lunch was organic scrambled eggs with salsa and Fontina cheese that was leftover from fondu night.

Another snack I enjoyed were these whole wheat banana chocolate chip muffins.  I threw some in the freezer last time I made a batch so they were ready for me when I needed something to grab quick.

whole wheat banana chocolate chip muffins

Since I have been filling my body with actual food for the last few days I have more energy.  I feel happier inside even though I miss my daughter like crazy.  I am also feeling ready to start exercising.  I think I will just start out walking – ease into it so I don’t get discouraged and quit.  I tend to have an all or nothing attitude so I know starting small is important.

Dinner was also pulled out of the freezer.  I love freezing leftovers when I have the time to cook.  Turkey meatballs that I made from scratch with spaghetti sauce and quinoa.

turkey meatballs from scratch

A friend told me about the pasta version of quinoa.  I have never bought regular spaghetti pasta again.  It is healthier, tastes great, and Hailey also loves it.  Score!

So, that’s WIAW!  I just want to end this post by saying “Good job, Jaime! Keep up the healthy choices – – I know you can do it.”

2 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday

  1. Where to start?!! I am in love with plain quinoa. I cook a bunch and keep it in little bowls in the freezer. I rarely eat pasta, but may try that product you like. I want to try making turkey meatballs, ( boy I wish I could reach out and grab one of yours) and maybe using spahgetti squash instead of pasta, because i love spahgetti squash. I usually eat it plain. Lets see, next…. I am glad you discovered almond butter, I eat it on a whole grain WASA cracker, or a plain big rice cake. And I have been pigging out on ginormous servings of fresh fruit. And tons of colored peppers and raw vegies. sometimes with cottage cheese or hummus.
    I am just trying to mix it up, so I continue eating healthy. I, too, was pleasantly surprised at first
    by how good I felt after eating these good foods, and cutting down to normal servings of meat and chicken and fish.
    Well, that’s it, this isn’t my blog:)
    Glad you are being a healthy trouper this week, the journey is always a work in progress.
    love you, mom

    • I haven’t found a way to eat plain quinoa that I really enjoy yet. I am so glad you have been eating cleaner for so long now too. It’s so hard to start but once you do it you feel so better. Thats why I want to have a record of how I am feeling so if I stumble I can look back and see how good I felt when I was eating clean. Also, I tried spaghetti squash once but didn’t like it. I am not a huge squash person. I am working on trying to like sweet potatoes – – those taste a lot like squash to me.
      Thanks for your kind words mom! Love you too!

Leave a Reply

