Dance Competition – First Experience

Today Hailey and I experienced our first dance competition.  When I say the words ‘dance competition’ the images from the show Dance Moms comes to mind.  All the drama, pressure, and overbearing moms.  The fake spray tans, the fake hair, fake eyelashes.  Fake fake fake!!!However the studio Hailey dances at is not a huge promoter of competition.  For that I am thankful!  The teacher seems to be on the same page as me – competitions can easily get way out of control and she feels that while it is a good experience once a year for the dancers it is not a way of life.

I did put makeup on Hailey, but definitely not nearly as much as a lot of other girls were wearing.

After Hailey’s class performed we watched the rest of the dancers and then stayed for the awards ceremony.

While I was a bit disappointed our girls didn’t get something individual to bring home, they did win a High Gold trophy.  Each team that danced won either a Lightening Gold, High Gold, or Gold trophy to share with their team.

Our first experience with competition was definitely a positive one.  Hailey really enjoyed performing and watching all of the others perform.

She also had some personal cheerleaders in the crowd!  Aunt Debbie, Daddy, Charlie, and of course me!

4 thoughts on “Dance Competition – First Experience

  1. Pingback: Parkmall Fire Dance Competition (August 28, 2010) « Cebu Live!

  2. Hi There! I was just hopping around blog land and found your blog. I grew up a competitive dancer and your post brought back many happy memories for me. Your daughter is beautiful and I wish her the best of luck in her dance future 🙂 xo

Leave a Reply

